This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Parsing 271 response records using X12Parser

May 24, 2012 at 12:32 PM

Can you please tell me what is the best way of parsing 271 response records? I need to parse and take out each elements. One way I have used is first serializing to XML and put it into 'XPathDocument'. Then use 'XPathNavigator' to query the required element. My worry here is, performance. Is there a better way of doing?

Jul 12, 2013 at 9:24 PM
Hi,

Did you ever receive any answers for your question?

I'm no expert, I've just recently started using this library myself and I'm working directly with the EligibilityBenefitDocument object which is returned from EligibilityTransformationService.Transform271ToBenefitResponse(Stream stream) method.

I am actually at the stage of saving this data now and I am curious as to what you have come up with. Below is just some code I am using to test this now;
//.......other using statements
using OopFactory.X12.Transformations;
using OopFactory.X12.Hipaa.Eligibility.Services;
using OopFactory.X12.Hipaa.Eligibility;
using OopFactory.X12.Parsing;

namespace EdiServices.Service.InsuranceServices
{
  public class EligibilityRequestService 
  {

public JObject RunTransaction(int idOfRecordToConvertTo270)
    {
        //some calls to db or w/e to help create appropriate 270 Request using idOfRecordToConvertTo270
        //.......
        //make call to clearinghouse etc to pass 270 Request and get ediFile response as string
        //.......
        //convert string to stream
        byte[] byteArray = Encoding.UTF8.GetBytes(ediFileString);
        MemoryStream ediFile = new MemoryStream(byteArray);

//make call to EligibilityTransformationService.Transform271ToBenefitResponse(ediFile) method and get EligibilityBenefitDocument
        EligibilityTransformationService service = new EligibilityTransformationService();